Skip to content

The Sea of Sauce Saga Continues…

October 13, 2010

I’ve been hard at work trying to put up 250 lbs of apples.  Now, that sounds like a lot but it doesn’t look too bad.  Ten plastic bags full of big juicy apples…what it sounds like is ‘delicious’.  Well, let me tell you, it has kept me busy.  I’ve got 4 different types of apples to make into sauce.  Courtlands, Wealthys, Snows and Spartans.  All uniquely different and I’ve done batches of each on their own and mixed together.  The consistency is about the same but the flavours range from sweet to a bit more savory.  I think my favorite so far is the Wealthys (which are a little tart) but the verdict is still out since I haven’t tried the Spartans.  That’s tomorrows job.

Put up total on Saturday October 9th:

  • Courtland apple sauce  ~ 15 x 500mL regular mouth mason jars
  • Spiced Courtland apple sauce ~ 6 x 500mL regular mouth mason jars

Put up total on Sunday October 10th:

  • Courtland and Wealthy apple sauce 16 x 500mL regular mouth mason jars

Put up total today:

  • 1 x 1L regular mouth mason jar for the fridge
  • 19 x 500mL regular mouth mason jars

Today, I also tried a recipe from Mrs. Wheelbarrow’s Kitchen for SPICED APPLES IN A JAR.  I admit this was a challenging one.  This recipe is easy to follow and she provides you with wonderful pictures that explain the steps but I had difficulty with the processing.  When she says PACK the jars…she means it!!  I had to process all four pints twice and one of them a third time.  Each time topping them up with the 250mL I didn’t get in the jar the first time.  And, after all of the canning I’ve done!?!  Go figure!?!  Finally, they’ve all sealed but I do way too much canning to be bothered reprocessing.  The good thing is this will make excellent pastry filler and it is delicious!

Put up total:

  • 4 x 500mL regular mouth mason jars. 
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 4:44 pm

    Why, that’s a lot of canning. Looks delicious.

    • October 13, 2010 6:35 pm

      I admit…it has kept me out of trouble for the last few days…and I’m still not done!

  2. Kathryn permalink
    October 22, 2010 1:42 pm

    Looks delicious and the color of the sauce is very pretty! Yummy I’m sure:)

Leave a comment